Skip to content
Skardu Times

View from the Top

Report cites 260 Afghan terrorists killed in Pakistan operations

The Associated Press of Pakistan says the figure comes from a report that points to a militant network operating directly from Afghan territory

Skardu Times desk2 min read
Report cites 260 Afghan terrorists killed in Pakistan operations

ISLAMABAD: A report has identified 260 Afghan terrorists killed in military operations on Pakistani soil, according to a dispatch published by the state-run Associated Press of Pakistan (APP).

The APP item, dated September 25, 2026, described the figure as the result of what it called "various military operations" carried out inside Pakistan. The agency said the report exposes a "deeply entrenched terrorist nexus" operating directly from Afghan territory.

The dispatch did not name the report, its author, or the institution that produced it. It did not identify which military operations accounted for the deaths, when those operations took place, or in which parts of Pakistan they occurred. The APP item also did not specify the time period over which the 260 deaths were counted.

The one-paragraph dispatch offered no breakdown of the figure by operation, date, or location. It did not distinguish between militants killed in ground combat, air strikes, or other kinds of military action.

The APP dispatch did not include any comment from Pakistani military or government officials. It also did not include a response from the Afghan government or any Afghan source. The claim that the deaths expose a network operating from Afghan soil was not linked to any named official or document in the dispatch.

The figure arrives amid a long history of Pakistani accusations that militants use Afghan territory to plan and carry out attacks inside Pakistan. Afghan Taliban authorities have previously denied such allegations. This specific report, however, was not accompanied by any official reaction from either side.

Independent verification of the figure was not available at the time of filing. The APP item remained the only source for the claim, and no other Pakistani news outlet had independently carried the report.

The report's release date and the reason for its publication were not stated. APP did not indicate whether the full report would be made public or whether it had been shared with parliament or the media.

The standfirst accompanying the dispatch repeated the same sentence and offered no additional details.